Postcards from Crete

As some of you may know from my latest posts on Instagram, I’ve recently been to Crete and I’ve had such an amazing time it would be a shame if I wouldn’t share my experience.

The first few days I mainly explored the surroundings and luckily, our hotel was positioned just a stone’s throw from a beautiful beach where I could soak up the sun. I, personally, am not such a big fan of sunbathing or walking aimlessly by the sea, but this time I couldn’t help myself and spent a few days wandering around, especially when I had this view:

imag1396-01-01-01

imag1442-01-01

imag1424-01-01-01-01

imag1439-01-01-01

IMAG1453-01-01.jpeg

For the ones that consider this a pleasant way of spending time, I have two recommendations of places that surely you won’t forget, but only if you truly feel likewise, or else you’d leave with the feeling it was nothing but a waste of time and money.

The first one would be the island Gramvousa, birthplace of a few Venetian ruins which can be visited and from where you have an absoluteley breathtaking view and can snap some wonderful photos. However, I shall warn you, you have to climb 200m height on a steep pathway, in an unbearable heat. For me this part wasn’t such a pleasant experience but, anyways, you may as well spend your time on the beach or take a bath in this out of this world, dreamy blue sea.

imag1480-01-01imag1536-01-01-01imag1489-01imag1543-01

imag1566-01-01-01

Now, this would be the icing on the cake for the beachaholics out there: the Balos lagoon. It has everything that assembles a perfect day lying in the sun: turquoise and deep blue water and yes, take my word for it, pink sand. You didn’t read wrong – this unique beach is well-known for the strips of pink crystal sand. Since I was expecting to be surrounded by pink sand, when I faced the reality I was quite disappointed but, overall, it has been an unforgettable experience. Have a look:

imag1645-01-01-01-01

imag1628-01-01

imag1655-01

Some of you may be all about walking downtown, eating an ice-cream with your hands full of shopping bags, then enjoy the sunset while having a tasteful wine at a traditional tavern: all the cities chiefly have the same things to offer so you won’t be missing out on anything if you don’t visit them all. Although, don’t let the day pass without a walk by the sea at sunset among Greeks inviting you to dine there, Vespas and buildings covered in flowers – it’s something one of a kind.


As for the food, we all know the clichés: gyros, the tzatziki or the seafood, but what I truly believe everyone should definitely taste is the Greek coffee. As an avid coffee drinker, I must admit that it swiped me off my feet; something about it, either the consistency or the mix of flavours, makes it unmistakeable. Moreover, pair the coffee with a Greek frozen yogurt and you got yourself the recipe of a delicious dessert and an afternoon well-spent.

imag1418-01-01

Nevertheless, if you fancy wandering through small villages with cubic-stoned roads, narrow alleys and Vespas leaning on the walls, because everybody rides a Vespa in Crete, I got you covered. To be honest, I think that far before the beautiful beaches, crowded cities or traditional taverns, the main locations that capture the true Greek essence are those small villages located in the mountains – that’s what I’ve been looking for. Luckily, I found this absolutely picturesque village not far from where I stayed called Koutouloufari, whose simple architecture and warm atmosphere made me visit it more than once. Moreover, if you want to experience the Cretan tradition in depth, in these villages you may find locals organizing Cretan nights for the tourists, where you can drink, dance along with the performers or overall have a good time. For now, I’ll let the pictures do the talk:


Kisses,

Ilinca M.

Leave a Reply

